Help with matrix/vector traits

I’m new to rust and nalgebra. I’ve inherited some code that used and older version of nalgebra and I’m trying to get it working with the current version and with the current rustc. I’m having trouble understanding the trait constraints and how to get them squared away.

I’ve got a struct that contains an offset vector and scale factor that’s going to be applied to a bunch of data:

#[derive(Debug, PartialEq)]
pub struct Parameters<D>
where
    D: DimName,
{
    /// The offset of the points.
    pub offset: Vector<D>,

/// The scaling applied to the points.
    pub scale: f64,
}

Here Vector is really VectorN<f64, D>.

When I build, I get trait “not satisfied” errors. First:

Compiling cpd v0.1.0 (/home/acbell/cpd-rs)
error[E0277]: cannot multiply `generic_array::typenum::UInt<generic_array::typenum::UTerm, generic_array::typenum::B1>` to `<D as nalgebra::DimName>::Value`

I eliminate that by adding the suggested where clause.

Then I get:

error[E0277]: the trait bound `<<D as nalgebra::DimName>::Value as std::ops::Mul<generic_array::typenum::UInt<generic_array::typenum::UTerm, generic_array::typenum::B1>>>::Output: generic_array::ArrayLength<f64>` is not satisfied

In this case, adding the suggested where clause doesn’t work. The compiler continues to complain about the ArrayLength trait not being satisifed.

This all seems way harder than it should be. I’m thinking I’m doing something very wrong just to use a scaling vector with generic size.

Any help appreciated.

Hi! This kind of errors related to multiplying type-level integers are generally due to a missing DefaultAllocator bound (though the error message output by rustc is definitely not helpful).