Slice a Matrix into a Vector

Hello there,

I started learning Rust and felt comfortable enough to build something. Being a Robotics Engineer naturally I wanted to build a kinematics/dynamics library. I know that there is already stuff out there, but this serves more as a learning-the-language for me. I want to implement something I am familiar with in a new language.

Now after a few hours I am quite frustrated. I have to say that I am coming from numpy where I can slice and stack matrices like a crazy person and feel quite comfortable. I knew I had to give this up but man I hit so many road blocks, I did not expect this.
Anyways here is my problem:

Disclaimer: I have seen that nalgebra seems to have Transformations already build in. But as I said I want to try to build a lil library myself also to understand how to deal with matrices.

So lets say I want to store a 4x4 transformation matrix with nalgebra.
So I have a struct that is holding a Matrix like this:

pub struct TF {
        T: Matrix4<f32>,
    }

Now, this thing falls out of a forward kinematics function, and I want to retrieve quaternion and position from it. And I am already struggling with the most easy case (getting the position vector out).

So in my impl block I have a function that shall just return a 3 dimensional vector. In Numpy I would just

return self.T[0:3, 3]

However I know this is not Pyton and so I expected to somehow be able to get a Vector3<f32> out of my Matrix.

My first attempt was this. I also tried fixed_rows which did not work:

pub fn get_p(&self) -> Vector3<f32> {
    self.T.fixed_slice::<U3, U1>(0, 3) as Vector3<f32>
    }

Okay this does not work. With or without the explicit type cast, the types don’t match. And here I thought a Vector3 is just a VectorN is just a MatrixNM, …