Passing Matrix slice to function

Hi,

Firstly i’m new to rust and come from the python world. There is a good chance my question is unrelated to nalgebra but rather a miss-understanding of the language.

here’s my problem:

I want to iterate over the rows of a matrix and pass the returned slice to a function, however I couldn’t figure out what type annotation to use in the function signature. I ended up just doing what the compiler told me to do… however my understanding is lacking and I’m sure there is a better way.

This is what I came up with:

extern crate nalgebra as na;

use na::{Matrix, U1, U2, U100, ArrayStorage, SliceStorage};
use rand::Rng;

fn real_fn(X: Matrix<f64, U1, U2, SliceStorage<f64, U1, U2, U1, U100>>)
           -> na::Matrix<f64, na::U1, na::U1, na::ArrayStorage<f64, na::U1, na::U1>> {
    2.0 * X.column(0) - 3.4 * X.column(1)
}

fn main() {
    type Matrix2x100 = Matrix<f64, U100, U2, ArrayStorage<f64, U100, U2, >>;

let dist = rand::distributions::Normal::new(20.0, 1.5);
    let X = Matrix2x100::from_iterator(rand::thread_rng().sample_iter(&dist
    ));

for i in 0..100 {
        real_fn(X.row(i));
    }
}

Hi!

Here are various cleaner version of what you are trying to achieve here. The code bellow is commented but let me know if you need more explanations:

use na::{U1, U2, U100, MatrixSlice1x2, MatrixMN, RowVector2, Dim};
use rand::Rng;

// The `.row` method will give you a matrix slice with one row and two columns.
// Such a slice has type `MatrixSlice1x2` (which is an alias to what you did already).
// The two dimension arguments `U1` and `U100` are the row-stride and column-stride of the slice. The
// column stride must be `U100` here because your original matrix has 100 rows.
fn real_fn(X: MatrixSlice1x2<f64, U1, U100>) -> f64 {
    // Note that you can access the vector component using indexing directly.
    2.0 * X[0] - 3.4 * X[1]
}